domingo, 18 de octubre de 2009

George Harrison

George Harrison

George Harrison, MBE (25 February 1943 – 29 November 2001) born in Liverpool, England, was an English rock musician, singer-songwriter and film producer who achieved international fame as lead guitarist in The Beatles, along with mainstream success as a solo artist. Sidelined by the overwhelming songwriting talents of his Beatles band mates, John Lennon and Paul McCartney, Harrison, with his distinctive, eastern-oriented style of music, never felt he was able to fully express himself as a member of the band. As tensions within the band heightened towards the end of the 1960s, Harrison began to work on his debut solo album, All Things Must Pass. The album, released in 1970, contains the two-time number one hit, My Sweet Lord.

Harrison is also credited for creating music benefits, notably the 1971 Concert for Bangladesh. Harrison played beside Bob Dylan, Eric Clapton, Billy Preston, Ringo Starr, and Leon Russell to a crowd of 40,000 in Madison Square Garden, New York. The show raised over $240,000 benefiting the George Harrison Fund for Bangladesh relief.

George Harrison - Electronic Sound

Electronic Sound is George Harrison's second solo album, and the second and final record released on the Beatles' short-lived Zapple Records (an offshoot of Apple Records), before it was folded at the insistence of The Beatles' then-manager Allen Klein. Released in May 1969, it features two lengthy pieces, one per side on the original vinyl release, performed on the Moog synthesizer.

The cover of Electronic Sound was painted by Harrison himself. The inside sleeve included minimal notes on the album, and a quote, attributed to "Arthur Wax": "There are a lot of people around, making a lot of noise; here's some more." Due to its experimental and highly uncommercial nature, Electronic Sound failed to chart in the UK, and barely made the US Billboard album chart, peaking at #191.


1. "Under the Mersey Wall" – 25:10

Recorded in Esher, England in February 1969 with the assistance of Rupert and Jostick, The Siamese Twins

2. "No Time or Space" – 18:41

File:Sapcor1 a.jpg

George Harrison - Wonderwall Music

Wonderwall Music is George Harrison's first solo album and the soundtrack to the film Wonderwall. The songs are virtually all instrumental, except for some non-English vocals and a slowed-down spoken word track. The songs were recorded in December 1967 in England, and January 1968 in Bombay, India. Wonderwall Music is notable for being the first official solo album by one of the Beatles.


All songs by George Harrison.

  1. "Microbes" – 3:42
  2. "Red Lady Too" – 1:56
  3. "Tabla and Pakavaj" – 1:05
  4. "In the Park" – 4:08
  5. "Drilling a Home" – 3:08
  6. "Guru Vandana" – 1:05
  7. "Greasy Legs" – 1:28
  8. "Ski-ing" – 1:50
  9. "Gat Kirwani" – 1:15
  10. "Dream Scene" – 5:26
  11. "Party Seacombe" – 4:34
  12. "Love Scene" – 4:17
  13. "Crying" – 1:15
  14. "Cowboy Music" – 1:29
  15. "Fantasy Sequins" – 1:50
  16. "On the Bed" – 1:05
  17. "Glass Box" – 2:22
  18. "Wonderwall to Be Here" – 1:25
  19. "Singing Om" – 1:54

Tracks 2, 5, 8, 10, 11, 14, 17 and 18 were recorded in England, while tracks 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 9, 12, 13, 15, 16 and 19 were recorded in India.


All Things Must Pass is a triple album by George Harrison recorded and released after the break-up of The Beatles. The first triple album by a solo artist, the original vinyl release featured two records of rock songs, while the third, entitled "Apple Jam" was composed of informal jams led by Harrison with musician friends and other famous musicians. Received as a masterpiece upon its 1970 unveiling, it was eventually certified 6x Platinum by the RIAA.

In 2000, George Harrison personally oversaw the remastering of All Things Must Pass - the beginning of a re-issue project that was to see all his albums refurbished. Harrison lived long enough only to witness All Things Must Pass' re-release in January 2001 on his own GN Records imprint, distributed by EMI. Besides the colourfully re-imagined cover art, the two studio albums have been split across the two CDs, with bonus material appearing at the end of the first disc, and the "Apple Jam" - with an adjusted sequence - concluding the second disc.


Disc one
"I'd Have You Anytime" (George Harrison/Bob Dylan) – 2:56
"My Sweet Lord" – 4:38
"Wah-Wah" – 5:35
"Isn't It a Pity" (Version 1) – 7:09
"What Is Life" – 4:22
"If Not for You" (Bob Dylan) – 3:29
"Behind That Locked Door" – 3:05
"Let It Down" – 4:57
"Run of the Mill" – 2:49
"I Live for You" – 3:35
A 2000 recording of a previously unreleased track from the 1970 sessions for All Things Must Pass
"Beware of Darkness" – 3:19
An acoustic run-through of the song recorded on 27 May 1970 at the start of the sessions
"Let It Down" – 3:54
An acoustic run-through of the song recorded on 27 May 1970 at the start of the sessions, with a keyboard overdub effected in 2000
"What Is Life" – 4:27
An early mix of the song's backing track on 9 August 1970 with piccolo trumpet and oboe
"My Sweet Lord (2000)" – 4:57
A re-working of the original 1970 recording with new overdubs in 2000, including backing vocal from Sam Brown

Disc two
"Beware of Darkness" – 3:48
"Apple Scruffs" – 3:04
"Ballad of Sir Frankie Crisp (Let It Roll)" – 3:46
"Awaiting on You All" – 2:45
"All Things Must Pass" – 3:44
"I Dig Love" – 4:55
"Art Of Dying" – 3:37
"Isn't It a Pity" (Version 2) – 4:45
"Hear Me Lord" – 5:46
"It's Johnny's Birthday" (Based upon "Congratulations" - Martin/Coulter) – 0:49
"Plug Me In" (Jim Gordon/Carl Radle/Bobby Whitlock/Eric Clapton/Dave Mason/George Harrison) – 3:18
"I Remember Jeep" (Ginger Baker/Klaus Voormann/Billy Preston/Eric Clapton/George Harrison) – 8:07
"Thanks for the Pepperoni" (Jim Gordon/Carl Radle/Bobby Whitlock/Eric Clapton/Dave Mason/George Harrison) – 5:31
"Out of the Blue" (Jim Gordon/Carl Radle/Bobby Whitlock/Eric Clapton/Gary Wright/George Harrison/Jim Price/Bobby Keys/Al Aronowitz) – 11:16

The following musicians are credited on the 2001 release:
Guitars: George Harrison, Eric Clapton, Dave Mason, Peter Frampton , John Lennon
Bass guitar: Klaus Voorman, Carl Radle
Orchestral arrangements: John Barham
Keyboards: Gary Wright, Bobby Whitlock, Billy Preston, Gary Brooker
Drums and percussion: Ringo Starr, Jim Gordon, Alan White, Phil Collins, Ginger Baker
Harmonica - George Harrison(?) (harmonica is played on If Not for You and Apple Scruffs, it is unknown who the player could be)
Pedal steel guitar (with talk box): Pete Drake
Tenor saxophone: Bobby Keys
Trumpet: Jim Price
Rhythm guitars and percussion: Badfinger

Disc 1

Disc 2

1 comentario: