domingo, 10 de mayo de 2009

Porcupine Tree

File:Porcupine tree on the sunday of life.jpg

Porcupine Tree - On the Sunday of Life

On the Sunday of Life... is the debut album of English progressive rock band Porcupine Tree, first released in July, 1991. It compiles tracks that Steven Wilson produced and recorded for two cassette-only releases, Tarquin's Seaweed Farm (1989) and The Nostalgia Factory (1990). The rest of the music from these tapes was released three years after in the compilation album Yellow Hedgerow Dreamscape. The album contained tracks that would grow to become some of the group's classic songs (particularly "Radioactive Toy" and "Nine Cats"). Most of the lyrics were written by Alan Duffy, a school friend with whom Steven Wilson had lost touch a few years before the album was released. A small run of 1000 copies in a deluxe gatefold sleeve were released in early 1992


Part I - First Love

  1. "Music for the Head" – 2:42
  2. "Jupiter Island" – 6:12
  3. "Third Eye Surfer" – 2:50
  4. "On the Sunday of Life..." – 2:07
  5. "The Nostalgia Factory" – 7:28
  6. Part II - Second Sight

  7. "Space Transmission" – 2:59
  8. "Message from a Self-Destructing Turnip" – 0:27
  9. "Radioactive Toy" – 10:00
  10. "Nine Cats" – 3:53

Part III - Third Eye

  1. "Hymn" – 1:14
  2. "Footprints" – 5:56
  3. "Linton Samuel Dawson" – 3:04
  4. "And the Swallows Dance Above the Sun" – 4:05
  5. "Queen Quotes Crowley" – 3:48

Part IV - Fourth Bridge

  1. "No Luck With Rabbits" – 0:46
  2. "Begonia Seduction Scene" – 2:14
  3. "This Long Silence" – 5:05
  4. "It Will Rain for a Million Years" – 10:51

File:Porcupine tree the sky moves sideways.jpg

Porcupine Tree - The Sky Moves Sideways

The Sky Moves Sideways is the third studio album by British progressive rock band Porcupine Tree, first released in February, 1995. It has been compared by many fans to Pink Floyd's Wish You Were Here because of their similar structure; both albums have extended pieces at the beginning and end, which are the both halves of a single song. The Sky Moves Sideways was the first Porcupine Tree album to be released in the US, and the first on which Porcupine Tree was actually a band rather than simply a pseudonym for Steven Wilson. This transition took place while the album was being recorded, so two of the tracks - namely "The Moon Touches Your Shoulder" and "Dislocated Day" - are performed entirely by Wilson, while the full band appears on the remainder of the album (including "Stars Die", a UK single which was added to the US version of the album).


"The Sky Moves Sideways Phase 1"

1. "The Colour of Air"
2. "I Find That I'm Not There"
3. "Wire the Drum"
4. "Spiral Circus"
5. "Stars Die"
6. "Moonloop"
7. "Dislocated Day"
8. "The Moon Touches Your Shoulder"

"The Sky Moves Sideways Phase 2"

9. "Is... Not"
10. "Off the Map"


1 comentario: